Fall Skincare Essentials

It’s that time of year again, the time when the leaves start to change colour, the air begins to feel crisp, decorative gourds abound, and my skin starts to dry out like you WOULDN’T BELIEVE.

While I am unfortunately one of the many people out there who suffers from dry skin, I have found ways to combat the dryness, through much trial and error, and would like to share!!

Here are what I consider my absolute essentials, things that I either have repurchased, or will repurchase once I run out because I simply cannot live without them.

PicMonkey Collage moisture

(Clockwise from top left)

Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion: This stuff is supposed to last 24 hours, and I think that claim holds up pretty well. After I take a shower I slather this all over my legs, the main problem area on my body, and I’m usually okay for the day. After I put it on my legs really do feel like they’ve calmed down and are soothed. Excellent stuff, I’m on my second tube.

The Body Shop Almond Hand and Nail Cream: I have gone through about four of these in the last 12 months. That will tell you how much I love it. It really sinks into the skin and feels good when you really rub it into your nails as well. It smells amazing and is just worth every penny.

Clinique Moisture Surge gel: In the dead of winter I put this on over the Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion, and use it about once a week as a five-minute mask, as they suggest it can also be used. I’ve repurchased this, but didn’t find myself using it in the summer. It’s waiting in reserve. It’s so light and feels cool and refreshing going on.

The Body Shop Body Butters: In the dead of winter you need to bring out the big guns. I went through about four of these bad boys last year. I take whatever scent I have lying around, which is usually a few as The Body Shop products are popular presents.

Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair: This is great for my eyes, I originally had a sample and I wasn’t going to repurchase, but then I started using other samples and they burned, dried my eyes out, so i figured I would return to what I know works, even if it is very expensive.

Nuxe Reve de Miel lip balm: I use this at night, it keeps my lips moisturized overnight. It’s very thick and I feel like it takes the whole night to really sink in, I don’t like to use it during the day unless my lips are really chapped and suffering.

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion: I love this because it’s so light, I have used this all summer as well as all winter underneath the moisture surge stuff. The only downside is that it doesn’t have SPF, but that makes it good for wearing under makeup if you are going to be photographed and want to avoid flashback.

These are the products I use, and love. There are others in my rotation but these are the ones that I’ve used for at least 12 months and can recommend with absolute certainty.

Leave a Reply

