What I Read: In the Darkness by Karin Fossum

20130403-202053.jpg

From Goodreads:

“Eva is walking by the river one afternoon when a body floats to the surface of the icy water. She tells her daughter to wait patiently while she calls the police, but when she reaches the phone box Eva dials another number altogether. The dead man, Egil, has been missing for months, and it doesn’t take long for Inspector Sejer and his team to establish that he was the victim of a very violent killer. But the trail has gone cold. It’s as puzzling as another unsolved case on Sejer’s desk: the murder of a prostitute who was found dead just before Egil went missing. While Sejer is trying to piece together the fragments of a seemingly impossible case, Eva gets a phone call late one night. A stranger speaks and then swiftly hangs up. Eva looks out into the darkness and listens. All is quiet.”

So, according to my Goodreads account, I started this book on February 11, and I just finished it today!! It’s funny how time gets away from you when you’re dealing with various health issues and grad school and such. However, I gotta say, this did sit untouched on my bedside table for a while because I was just not feeling it. Until the other night!! I got through the first 100 pages and then it really picked up.

I think maybe it was slow at first because it’s the first book in the Inspector Sejer series, so there was a lot of setting up characters and such. The Inspector is your typical loner police officer that you see in a lot of Scandinavian Crime Fiction (see: Wallander series by Henning Mankell, Harry Hole series by Jo Nesbo). What’s interesting about Sejer is that he likes skydiving!! And he’s a bit older than some of the other main characters in this genre, as he is a grandfather.

As for the story – the crime seemed really confusing, and kind of boring at first. Then all of a sudden there is a huge twist that I DID NOT SEE COMING. I will not say anymore, because that would ruin the book, but I will say that this is worth slogging through the first half to get to the second half. I read last night until my eyes were drooping and I had to go to sleep, then picked it up again this afternoon as soon as I had time, because I just had to finish it immediately. I really like when a book surprises me like this. I’ll admit, I am a book-abandoner, I will just ditch a book if I don’t like it. Sometimes I wonder if I miss out on books that have potential to improve as you read on, but at the same time, I don’t want to spend time on something I don’t enjoy. I didn’t abandon this one because I had actually purchased it as opposed to just getting it from the library — and I’m so glad I didn’t!! I would recommend this author for sure.

Do you abandon books if you don’t like them after the first bit of reading?

Leave a Reply

