My thoughts on… The Redeemer by Jo Nesbo

Image

From Goodreads:

“A 14-year old girl is raped at one of the Salvation Army summer camps. Twelve years later, at a Christmas concert in a square in Oslo, a Salvation Army soldier is executed by a man in the crowd. A press photographer has caught a suspect on one of the photos of the concert. Beate Lønn, the identification expert, is confused by how the face can change from one photo to the next. Inspector Harry Hole’s search for the faceless man takes place on the seamy side of the city, among those who seek eternal – or just momentary – redemption. And the gunman has not yet completed his mission.” 

My thoughts: 

This wasn’t my favourite in the series. I feel like I didn’t get to spend as much time with the characters that I have come to love (Beate, Halvorsen, Rakel and Oleg) and that their storylines were just sort of put off to the side as secondary. The murder mystery was interesting to a certain extent, but it got very twisted and very complicated, maybe a little bit too much. I will definitely keep reading the series. I feel like this book sets up a lot of things for the next book, such as where is Harry’s relationship with Rakel going to go? What will happen to Moller? Is the new head of the department going to cause problems? 

I love Nesbo and Harry Hole, so I still enjoyed this, it just was my least favourite of the series so far.

 

Leave a Reply

